top of page
Search

My Breaking Point

Sitting at my desk with so many candles I had to sell for a low price to start an entire business. This was because I didn't have my niche. Several people were selling candles that were book theme and I had to look at the copyrights. It seemed as though my dream had collapse. I needed to overcome the rat race of selling candles. So, I had to start from scratch.


The most important thing about starting a business, is having your own niche. Anyone can make a candle but what is it that makes your unique? How is your candle different? How is that your candle can reach to your customers? I started making candles for booklovers and so many people were making candles for people who like to read. That wasn't a good niche.


So, I needed to connect with my audience and tell them my story. So, I took it back to my roots and started selling farmhouse candles and naming them about things that Carolinians would be able to understand.


After a long time of brainstorming, I thought that this was a great idea and I started going to companies in person that might like to place my candles in their stores. Sometimes personal experience is the best because it's hard for them to turn you down. Especially, if it's a good product.


I'm currently still working on my website adding professional pictures and making candles. I had to do a lot of research to get the candles that were perfect for my customers. It will not be easy at first but don't stop trying.

 

Set Goals for your Business

When you set goals and come up with great ideas or your niche, write it down because there would be a chance you will be revisiting your idea.


Here are some things you want to think about when you think of starting your candle business with your niche:


  1. Make enough money to quit your 9-5 and focus on your business. Owning a business and getting a variety of revenue doesn't allow you to do both at the same time. It can become overwhelming.

2. Sell your first 100 candles. You may not be able to sell 100 candles in one day, but you can set a goal to sell candles per day. Some days you want be able to sell any.


3. Get your candles in local boutiques. In person is the best results. Go talk to local boutiques and form a relationship with your customers.

 

Check out our Juneteenth Candles. Shop our June candle of the month.




 

New candle coming soon...


Sugar Cane

Brown Sugar & Red Plum and Walnut




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page